Sebastian Vettel clinches his third title as Jenson Button wins the 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix – Formula 1
Zigwheels Home

Home » Formula1» News» Sebastian Vettel clinches his third title as Jenson Button wins the 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix

View all
View all

Sebastian Vettel clinches his third title as Jenson Button wins the 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix

by Niharika Ghorpade Photos: Dppi Posted on November 26, 2012 3:21 IST 897 Views

Jenson Button wins the 2012 Brazilian GP followed by Ferando Alonso in second and Felipe Massa in third while Sebastian Vettel finishes 6th to take the world title




Sebastian Vettel 2012 Formula One World




Jenson Button won the 2012 Brazilian Grand Prix at the Interlagos circuit in Sao Paulo, followed by title contender Fernando Alonso in second and Felipe Massa in third. Sebastian Vettel who finished sixth, became the youngest consecutive three time World Champion.


The 2012 Formula One season couldn’t have had a more dramatic season finale than the one at Interlagos, in Sao Paulo. The qualifying witnessed a McLaren front row lockout followed by the two Red Bull Racing drivers taking 3rd and 4th place on the grid. But as the red lights went off the race right from the start to the very end was nothing short of a frenetic 71 laps forcing the the safety car to come out twice as a result of the collisions and relentless drama that followed.


Jenson Button, who started the race second overtook team mate Lewis Hamilton after a wheel to wheel battle in lap 8. He lost his lead to Sahara Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg, and got overtaken by Hamilton in the rain and on the slippery tarmac, but trailed behind with a comfortable lead on Alonso who was running fourth then. He regained his lead after a collision between the front runners Hamilton and Hulkenberg, after which he finished the race to mark his third grand prix win of the season.  




Nico Hulkenberg race incident with Lewis Hamilton




Fernando Alonso, who lost the championship by three points had a fantastic start which saw him charging through the field from eight to fourth position overtaking both Red Bull drivers in the first lap itself.  The Spaniard started the race trailing 13 points behind Vettel in the race, but there were a few stages in the race where the situation almost saw him clinching his third title. Nevertheless he outdrove his car yet again to finish second on the podium and in the championship.


Felipe Massa made it to a podium on his home soil for the first time after the 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix. The Brazilian started the race in seventh and finished third behind his team mate.


The surprise package of the race was Nico Hulkenberg who qualified fifth and jumped into third at the start. He overtook Hamilton and Button to lead the race from lap 19 onwards for a few laps, which is the furthest he and his team could get throughout the season. At lap 49 his car took a gentle slide due to loss of traction turning into a corner in damp conditions and sadly losing his lead to Hamilton. At lap 54, he got caught up in a collision with race leader Hamilton, which damaged the front left suspension of the McLaren, and ended Hamilton’s race. Hulkenberg was a handed a twelve second penalty after which he still made it up the grid to finish the race in fifth position behind Red Bull Racing’s Mark Webber.




Brazilian GP podium - (L-R) Fernando Alonso (2nd), Jenson Button (1st),
Felipe Massa (3rd)




Sebastian Vettel who finished the race sixth became the third driver to win the title three times in a row after Juan Manuel Fangio and Michael Schumacher. There were many stages in the race where he almost lost the title to Fernando Alonso. The German had a collision at turn four of the very first lap where his car was damaged by Team William's driver Bruno Senna pushing Vettel down the order to 22nd. After pitting for a quick fix on the injured RB8 Vettel drove the best he possibly could to finish sixth and in doing that take his third championship title. There were a few stages in the race where he almost lost his title to Alonso. Eventually his sixth position made him finish at 281 points with Alonso at 278 points.


Michael Schumacher who drove the last Grand Prix of his Formula One career finished seventh, followed by Jean-Eric Vergne, Kamui Kobayashi and Kimi Raikkonen to complete the top ten. The action packed grand prix witnessed several retirements namely Lewis Hamilton, Romain Grosjean, Pastor Maldonado, Sergio Perez, Bruno Senna and Paul di Resta.


Post Your Comment

Do you like this story?

Readers' opinions ( )
Post a Comment

Have something to say? Post your comment
Comments are moderated and will be allowed if they are about the topic and not abusive.
Characters remaining (1500)

Will be displayed

Will not be displayed
2 + 9 =
Please answer this simple math question.